spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Sun, Aug 4, 2013, 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
H-2B launch of HTV-4 spacecraft (JAXA) An H-2 rocket successfully launched the fourth in a series of Japanese cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station early Sunday. The H-2B rocket lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 3:48 pm EDT Saturday (1948 GMT Saturday, 4:48 am local time Sunday) and released the HTV-4 spacecraft into orbit 15 minutes later. The cargo spacecraft is scheduled to arrive at and be berthed to the ISS on August 9. HTV-4 carries more than 2,400 kilograms of supplies and equipment in the spacecraft's pressurized section, as well as more than 800 kilograms of unpressurized cargo. Included on the HTV-4 mission are a small Japanese talking robot dubbed Kirobo, a new "task board" of components for a robotic spacecraft servicing experiment on the ISS, and several cubesats that will later be released from the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list