spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launches WGS-6 communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Aug 8, 2013, 7:13 AM ET (1113 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of WGS-6 (ULA) A Delta 4 rocket successfully launched the sixth in a series of communications satellites used by the US military and allied nations. The Delta 4 Medium-Plus (5,4) lifted off on schedule at 8:29 pm EDT Wednesday (0029 GMT Thursday) from Space Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral. The rocket released the Wideband Global SATCOM 6 (WGS-6) satellite 41 minutes later. The satellite is the sixth in a series of satellites that provide X- and Ka-band communications for US and allied militaries; this satellite was financed by Australia as part of the deal to give that nation access to the overall WGS system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 28
Spaceport cup promotes region, launches futures
El Paso Inc. — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list