spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


HTV berths with ISS
Posted: Sat, Aug 10, 2013, 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
HTV-4 berthing to ISS (NASA) A Japanese cargo spacecraft successfully rendezvoused with and berthed to the International Space Station on Friday. The HTV-4 spacecraft arrived in the vicinity of the ISS on Friday morning; the station's crew used its robotic arm to grapple the spacecraft at 7:22 am EDT (1122 GMT) Friday. The arm then moved the spacecraft and berthed it to the station several hours later. HTV-4 carries more than 2,400 kilograms of supplies and equipment in the spacecraft's pressurized section, as well as more than 800 kilograms of unpressurized cargo. Included on the HTV-4 mission are a small Japanese talking robot dubbed Kirobo, a new "task board" of components for a robotic spacecraft servicing experiment on the ISS, and several cubesats that will later be released from the ISS. It will remain attached to the station for about a month, leaving in early September to make way for the first Cygnus cargo spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 28
Spaceport cup promotes region, launches futures
El Paso Inc. — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list