spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts perform record-setting spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Aug 17, 2013, 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2013 August 16 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts set an endurance record on Friday during a spacewalk outside the International Space Station (ISS). Fyodor Yurchikhin and Alexander Misurkin completed the 7-hour, 29-minute spacewalk Friday at 6:05 pm EDT (2205 GMT), setting the record for the longest EVA by Russian cosmonauts. The two performed the spacewalk to prepare the station for the arrival of a new Russian module in the coming months, rerouting and installing cables. The two also attached a materials science experiment to the exterior of the Poisk module. The EVA was the first from the ISS since a July 16 spacewalk was cut shortly after it started when water started leaking into the spacesuit of Italian astronaut Luca Parmitano. The investigation into that incident is ongoing, but did not affect Friday's EVA, which used Russian spacesuits.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA and ESA finalize ExoMars Rosalind Franklin agreement
Posted: Sun, May 19 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)

Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)

BEpiColombo Mercury mission suffers thruster problem
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 23
San Antonio leaders working to land new Space Force cyber unit in city
San Antonio Express-News — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list