spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches Mars Orbiter Mission
Posted: Tue, Nov 5, 2013, 8:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
PSLV launch of Mars Orbiter Mission A PSLV rocket successfully placed India's first Mars mission into a transfer orbit on Tuesday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre on schedule at 4:08 am EST (0908 GMT, 2:38 pm local time) Tuesday, carrying the Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) spacecraft. The PSLV's fourth stage released MOM into an elliptical transfer orbit 45 minutes after liftoff. The spacecraft will use its main engine to enter a Mars-bound trajectory at the end of the month, arriving at Mars in September 2014. MOM will operate in an elliptical orbit around Mars, studying the planet's surface and atmosphere. The mission is India's first Mars mission, a milestone that puts it ahead of several other emerging spacefaring nations, including China.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list