spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts perform spacewalk with Olympic torch
Posted: Sun, Nov 10, 2013, 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2013 November 9 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts conducted a spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Saturday, carrying out a photo opportunity for the Olympic torch but having mixed success with other tasks. Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy spent five hours and 50 minutes outside the station on a spacewalk that started at 9:34 am EST (1434 GMT) Saturday. The first task the two performed was to show off the torch for the upcoming Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia. The torch arrived on the station Thursday, brought to the station by an arriving Soyuz spacecraft, and it will return to Earth with a departing Soyuz Sunday night. The spacewalkers then performed a series of tasks outside the Russian segment of the station, including setting up a workstation installed on the Zvezda module in August. However, cosmonauts had to defer the installation of a foot restraint on the workstation to a future spacewalk because of alignment issues, and the stowage of an antenna on a deactivated experiment elsewhere on the module was also deferred.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list