spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches MAVEN
Posted: Mon, Nov 18, 2013, 4:18 PM ET (2118 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of MAVEN (J. Foust) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched NASA's latest Mars spacecraft on Monday. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off on schedule at 1:28 pm EST (1828 GMT) Monday from Launch Complex 41 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, and the MAVEN spacecraft separated from the Centaur upper stage nearly 53 minutes later, on course for Mars. There were no major technical issues during the countdown and inclement weather held off. MAVEN (Mars Atmosphere and Volatile EvolutioN) will enter an elliptical orbit around Mars in September, beginning a mission to study the planet's upper atmosphere and how the planet may have lost the warmer, thicker atmosphere it had early in its history.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 25
Upstart OneWeb Pairs With Gogo, Satcom Direct
Aviation Week — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Space Force Can Only ‘Mitigate’ China-Russia Space Cooperation
Air Force Magazine — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list