spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Chang'e-3 lunar lander
Posted: Mon, Dec 2, 2013, 7:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Chang'e-3 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket lifted off early Monday and placed China's first lunar lander mission on a trajectory towards the Moon. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:30 pm EST Sunday (1730 GMT Sunday, 1:30 am Beijing time Monday) carrying the Chang'e-3 spacecraft. The rocket placed the spacecraft on a translunar trajectory, arriving at the Moon in four days. Chang'e-3 will go into orbit around the Moon before landing in the Sinus Iridum region on December 14. Chang'e-3 is China first lunar lander mission, and the Chang'e-1 and -2 lunar orbiters, and also carries a rover named Yutu, or jade rabbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list