spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Fri, Dec 27, 2013, 11:13 AM ET (1613 GMT)
Proton M launch of Express-AM5 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite on Thursday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 5:50 am EST (1050 GMT, 4:50 pm local time) Thursday, and its Breeze M upper stage released the Express-AM5 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit about nine hours later. The satellite, built by Russian manufacturer ISS Reshetnev for the Russian Space Communications Company (RSCC), weighed 3,400 kilograms at liftoff and carries 84 C-, Ku-, Ka-, and L-band transponders. RSCC will use the spacecraft at 140 degrees east in GEO to television, data, and other services across much of Russia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA and ESA finalize ExoMars Rosalind Franklin agreement
Posted: Sun, May 19 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)

Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)

BEpiColombo Mercury mission suffers thruster problem
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 23
San Antonio leaders working to land new Space Force cyber unit in city
San Antonio Express-News — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list