spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Gaia spacecraft reaches L2
Posted: Thu, Jan 16, 2014, 7:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
Gaia spacecraft illustration (ESA) A European astronomy spacecraft launched last month entered orbit this week around the Earth-Sun L2 Lagrange point. ESA reported that the Gaia spacecraft fired its thrusters Tuesday at 10:30 am EST (1530 GMT) to place it into an orbit around the L2 point, 1.5 million kilometers from Earth. Gaia, launched last month on a Soyuz rocket, is designed to map the positions of one billion stars during its five-year mission, creating the most accurate star catalog to date.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 22
Space Force Launches New Operations Branch
Air Force Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Space Force welcomes new command in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Gazette — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Rocket Lab stands down Canon launch
New Zealand Herald — 6:09 am ET (1009 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list