spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts install commercial cameras on ISS spacewalk
Posted: Tue, Jan 28, 2014, 7:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2014 January 27 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts installed a pair of Canadian cameras during a spacewalk Monday, although there were conflicting reports about whether both cameras were working. Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy completed a six-hour, eight-minute spacewalk at 3:08 pm EST (2008 GMT) Monday, performing work they were not able to complete on a spacewalk one month earlier. The two installed a pair of commercial Earth imaging cameras for Canadian company Urthecast during the spacewalk: the cameras were supposed to be installed on the December EVA, but technical issues then required the cosmonauts to bring the cameras back inside the station. One of the cameras, which provides high-resolution images, appeared to be working normally, but a medium-resolution camera also installed Monday was initially not providing good telemetry. However, Urthecast officials said late Monday that they believed both cameras were now working properly. The cosmonauts also retrieved scientific equipment from the exterior of the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list