spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus launch rescheduled for July 11
Posted: Fri, Jul 4, 2014, 8:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
Antares launch of Cygnus on Orb-1 (NASA) Orbital Sciences Corporation has rescheduled the Antares launch of a Cygnus cargo mission to the International Space Station to July 11 after completing checks of the rocket's main engines. The launch had been delayed for over a month after an AJ26 engine intended for another Antares rocket suffered a failure during a test firing in late May. Orbital officials said Thursday that inspections of the AJ26 engines on this rocket have been completed, and the vehicle cleared for launch. That launch is now scheduled for 1:40 pm EDT (1740 GMT) July 11 from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport in Virginia. Cygnus will deliver 1,657 kilograms of cargo to the station on the second of eight missions under Orbital's Commercial Resupply Services contract with NASA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list