spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches GPS satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 2, 2014, 10:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of GPS2F-7 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched a Global Positioning System (GPS) navigation satellite Friday night. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 11:23 pm EDT Friday (0323 GMT Saturday) carrying the GPS 2F-7 satellite. The rocket's Centaur upper stage released the satellite in medium Earth orbit nearly three and a half hours after liftoff. The satellite is the latest in the GPS 2F series of 12 spacecraft to augment and improve the GPS constellation. The launch was the second in less than a week for United Launch Alliance, after a Delta 4 launch, also from the Cape, on Monday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list