spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays launch of Japanese asteroid mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 28, 2014, 11:22 AM ET (1622 GMT)
Hayabusa-2 illustration (JAXA) The Japanese space agency JAXA said Friday it was delaying the launch of its latest asteroid mission by a day due to a forecast of poor weather. The launch of the H-2A rocker from the the Tanegashima Space Center, which was scheduled for 11:24 pm EST Saturday (0424 GMT, 1:24 pm local time Sunday), has been postponed at least a day because forecasts called for cloudy conditions with a freezing layer that could trigger lightning during launch. The H-2A is carrying Hayabusa-2, Japan's second mission to an asteroid. The spacecraft will travel to the asteroid 1993 JU3, arriving in mid-2018 to collect samples before returning to Earth in 2020.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Intuitive Machines lunar lander
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches missile-warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 21
Space Force: We need a hotline to China
Defense One — 6:02 am ET (1102 GMT)
Musk: SpaceX aims to launch third Starship by second week of March
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 5:59 am ET (1059 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list