spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches Hayabusa asteroid mission
Posted: Thu, Dec 4, 2014, 5:29 AM ET (1029 GMT)
H-2A launch of Hayabusa-2 (JAXA) An H-2A rocket successfully launched on Wednesday a Japanese mission to collect samples from a near Earth asteroid. The H-2A rocket lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 11:22 pm EST Tuesday (0422 GMT, 1:22 pm local time Wednesday) the Hayabusa-2 spacecraft. The rocket released the spacecraft about one hour and 45 minutes after liftoff. The launch, which had been scheduled for Sunday, was delayed by weather. Hayabusa-2 is Japan's second mission to an asteroid, after the Hayabusa spacecraft collected samples from the asteroid Itokawa. The spacecraft will travel to the asteroid 1993 JU3, arriving in mid-2018 to collect samples before returning to Earth in 2020.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list