spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Inaugural launch of Angara 5 rocket successful
Posted: Wed, Dec 24, 2014, 12:05 PM ET (1705 GMT)
Angara 5 first launch (Russian MoD) The first launch of a heavy-lift version of Russia's Angara rocket was declared a success Tuesday, placing a dummy payload into orbit. The Angara A5.1L lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 12:57 am EST (0557 GMT, 8:57 Moscow time) Tuesday. The Angara 5 is a more powerful version of the Angara 1 rocket tested earlier this year, using five "universal rocket module" cores, powered by engines using liquid oxygen and kerosene propellants, for the first stage, along with a second stage and a Briz-M upper stage. The rocket placed a dummy satellite, which remained attached to the Briz0M, into geostationary orbit; the upper stage then maneuvered the payload into a graveyard orbit. Russia developed the Angara to allow it to launch payloads to geostationary orbit from Russian facilities, without requiring the use of Proton rockets from Baikonur, Kazakhstan. Development of Angara, though, suffered many years of delays.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Opinion: The future of spaceflight is female
Houston Chronicle — 8:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list