spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew temporarily evacuates part of ISS due to false alarm
Posted: Thu, Jan 15, 2015, 6:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
ISS during STS-135 mission (NASA) The crew of the International Space Station sealed off the station's US segment for much of Wednesday after a computer glitch indicated a possible ammonia leak there. Alarms on the station sounded around 4 am EST (0900 GMT) Wednesday indicating problems with a cooling system on the US segment that NASA said could be linked to a possible leak of ammonia coolant. The station's six-person crew moved to the Russian segment of the ISS and closed the hatch as ground controllers diagnosed the problem. Engineers later concluded that there was no ammonia leak, and instead a data relay unit malfunctioned, sending erroneous data. Astronauts reentered the US segment around 3 pm EST (2000 GMT) and detected no traces of ammonia in the atmosphere. NASA said the incident should have no long-term effect on ISS operations, including scientific research being done there.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list