spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress reenters over Pacific
Posted: Fri, May 8, 2015, 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
Progress M-23M approaching the ISS (NASA) A Progress spacecraft that controllers lost control of shortly after launch reentered harmlessly over the Pacific Ocean Thursday night. The Russian space agency Roscosmos said the Progress M-27M spacecraft reentered at 10:04 pm EDT Thursday (0204 GMT Friday), while US Strategic Command reported a reentry time of 10:20 pm EDT (0220 GMT). The spacecraft was over the Pacific at both times, and there were no reports of debris hitting the ground from the spacecraft. The Progress, launched April 28 on a mission to deliver cargo to the ISS, flew out of control shortly after reaching orbit, possibly because of a problem with the upper stage of its Soyuz rocket. An update on the investigation into the failure is expected May 13.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list