spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz-2 rocket returns to flight in military launch
Posted: Sat, Jun 6, 2015, 11:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
Soyuz-2 launch of Cosmos 2505 (Russian MoD) A Soyuz-2.1a rocket launched a military satellite Friday in the first launch of that vehicle since the loss of a Progress spacecraft in April. The Soyuz-2.1a rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 11:24 am EDT (1524 GMT, 6:24 pm Moscow time) carrying a satellite designated Cosmos 2505. Russian reports did not disclose the satellite's mission, beyond serving the Russian military, but outside experts believe the satellite is a reconnaissance satellite. The launch was the first for the Soyuz-2 since April 28, when it launched a Progress cargo spacecraft to the ISS. A mishap blamed on a "design peculiarity" between the Progress and the Soyuz's upper stage caused the Progress to spin out of control after its release from the upper stage; it reentered in early May after its docking with the International Space Station was called off.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list