spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fairing problem delays Ariane launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 19, 2002, 8:17 PM ET (0117 GMT)
Ariane 44L file photo (Arianespace) An Ariane 4 launch scheduled for the early morning hours Wednesday has been delayed three days because of minor issues with the booster, Arianespace announced Tuesday. The launch of Intelsat 904 on an Ariane 44L was scheduled for 1:59 am EST (0659 GMT) Wednesday from Kourou, French Guiana, but Arianespace officials announced midday Tuesday that the launch would be delayed until the same time on Saturday. An Arianespace statement said that the delay was due to "additional work on the [payload] fairing", but Spaceflight Now reported that launch preparations had been behind schedule since last week, with the satellite delivered to the launch pad as late as Monday. Despite the delay, Arianespace said it is still planning to launch an Ariane 5 carrying ESA's Envisat earth sciences satellite on February 28.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list