spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches DARPA satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Rocket Lab Electron launch of DARPA R3D2 (Rocket Lab) Rocket Lab launched an experimental DARPA satellite Thursday evening. The company's Electron rocket lifted off from its New Zealand spaceport at 7:27 pm EDT (2327 GMT), deploying the Radio Frequency Risk Reduction Deployment Demonstration (R3D2) satellite into low Earth orbit nearly an hour later. The 150-kilogram satellite is designed to test technologies for large deployable antennas that can be incorporated onto small satellites. The launch was the first this year for Rocket Lab, which says it plans to carry out launches on a monthly basis this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
OneWeb applies to FCC for bigger fleet authorisation
Telecompaper — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
NASA eyes Aug. for SpaceX ship liftoff with Japanese astronaut aboard
Kyodo International — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list