spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
Proton launch of Yamal-601 (ILS) A Proton successfully launched a Russian communications satellite Thursday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 1:42 pm EDT (1742 GMT), releasing the Yamal-601 satellite into its planned transfer orbit about nine hours later. Yamal-601, built by Thales Alenia Space for Russian operator Gazprom Space Systems, weighed about 5,400 kilograms at launch and carries C- and Ka-band transponders that will provide service to Russia and neighboring regions from 49 degrees east longitude in geostationary orbit. The launch was the first this year for the Proton; the next, of the Spektr-RG astronomy satellite, is scheduled for June 21.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 9
Wanted: A new UAE astronaut
The National (UAE) — 3:57 am ET (0857 GMT)
NASA’s social media contest for behind-the-scenes access
WAVY-TV Norfolk, VA — 3:52 am ET (0852 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list