spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Canadian radar imaging satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Radarsat Constellation Mission (SpaceX) SpaceX launched three Canadian radar imaging satellites Wednesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 10:17 am EDT (1417 GMT) and deployed the three Radarsat Constellation Mission (RCM) satellites into sun-synchronous orbits an hour later. The rocket's first stage, which previously launched the company's Crew Dragon spacecraft on a test flight in March, landed back at the launch site. RCM is designed to provide improved synthetic aperture radar imagery over the existing Radarsat-2, including faster revisits. Unlike Radarsat-2, which is operated by Maxar, the Canadian government owns the full imaging capacity of the RCM constellation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
OneWeb applies to FCC for bigger fleet authorisation
Telecompaper — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
NASA eyes Aug. for SpaceX ship liftoff with Japanese astronaut aboard
Kyodo International — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list