spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX flies Starhopper vehicle
Posted: Fri, Aug 30, 2019, 6:13 PM ET (2213 GMT)
SpaceX's Starhopper vehicle performed its highest, and final, test flight Tuesday. The vehicle, an early prototype of SpaceX's next-generation Starship system, took off from a pad at the company's South Texas test site shortly after 6 pm EDT (2200 GMT), landing on another pad a short distance away nearly a minute later. The vehicle was planned to fly to an altitude of 150 meters, but the company did not immediately disclose the vehicle's peak altitude. The test will be the last flight for Starhopper, as the company moves on to "Starship Mark 1" prototypes under construction that could be ready for initial flights later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list