spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus cargo spacecraft launched to ISS
Posted: Sun, Nov 3, 2019, 8:28 AM ET (1328 GMT)
Antares launch of Cygnus on NG-12 mission (J. Foust) An Antares rocket successfully launched a Cygnus cargo spacecraft carrying several tons of cargo for the International Space Station. The Northrop Grumman Antares 230+ rocket lifted off at 9:59 am EDT (1359 GMT) from the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport in Virginia and released the NG-12 Cygnus spacecraft into orbit eight and a half minutes later. The spacecraft, carrying about 3,700 kilograms of cargo, will arrive at the ISS early Monday. The Cygnus is carrying a wide range of scientific experiments as well as equipment that astronauts will use to repair the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer. The launch was the first under the new CRS-2 cargo contract, a follow-on to the original CRS cargo contracts awarded more than a decade ago.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 16
NM delegation urges Space Force to utilize state assets
Albuquerque Journal — 8:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Results of Starliner Review Expected in February
Air Force Magazine — 8:14 am ET (1314 GMT)
Nasa reaches for the stars with nuclear-propelled spacecraft
The Daily Telegraph — 8:12 am ET (1312 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list