spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8, 2019, 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)
A Dragon cargo spacecraft is also en route to the ISS after a launch Thursday. A SpaceX Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 12:29 pm EST (1729 GMT) and placed the Dragon spacecraft into orbit about 10 minutes later. The Dragon, flying a mission designated CRS-19, will arrive at the station early Sunday with its payload of more than 2,600 kilograms of supplies and experiments. The Falcon 9's second stage was scheduled to perform an extended six-hour coast after deploying the Dragon to demonstrate its capabilities for other customers. The extra performance needed for that in-orbit demonstration required the first stage to burn longer, leading to a droneship landing rather than a return to the Cape.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Maxar to sell MDA
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)

Long March 5 returns to flight
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:43 PM ET (1843 GMT)

Rockot performs final launch
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:41 PM ET (1841 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 18
Oxygen line opens new perspective on the far universe
Netherlands Research School for Astronomy — 4:35 pm ET (2135 GMT)
Merger of Milky Way with dwarf galaxy dated
Max-Planck-Institut — 4:34 pm ET (2134 GMT)
Hot gas feeds spiral arms of the Milky Way
Max-Planck-Institut — 4:33 pm ET (2133 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list