spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New Shepard flies 12th test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 15, 2019, 7:33 AM ET (1233 GMT)
Blue Origin's New Shepard suborbital vehicle made its first flight in more than seven months Wednesday. The vehicle lifted off at 12:53 pm EST (1753 GMT) from the company's West Texas site, reaching a peak altitude of about 105 kilometers on the ten-minute flight. The vehicle carried a number of research and educational payloads, from science experiments to postcards contributed by children. The flight was the first since May for the vehicle, and Blue Origin, which once planned to start flying people this year, acknowledged it will need "a couple more flights" before it's ready to begin crewed flights.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list