spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches two geostationary satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of JCSAT-17, Feb 2020 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 launched two geostationary orbit satellites for Japan and South Korea Tuesday. The rocket lifted off at 5:18 pm EST (2218 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana, and deployed the JCSAT-17 and GEO-KOMPSAT-2B satellites into geostationary transfer orbits about a half-hour later. JCSAT-17, built by Lockheed Martin for Japanese operator Sky Perfect JSAT, carries C- and Ku-band transponders and an 18-meter S-band reflector from L3Harris Technologies. GEO-KOMPSAT-2B, a weather satellite developed by the South Korean space agency KARI, carries an ocean imaging payload from Airbus Defence and Space and an environmental spectrometer from Ball Aerospace.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list