spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches two geostationary satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of JCSAT-17, Feb 2020 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 launched two geostationary orbit satellites for Japan and South Korea Tuesday. The rocket lifted off at 5:18 pm EST (2218 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana, and deployed the JCSAT-17 and GEO-KOMPSAT-2B satellites into geostationary transfer orbits about a half-hour later. JCSAT-17, built by Lockheed Martin for Japanese operator Sky Perfect JSAT, carries C- and Ku-band transponders and an 18-meter S-band reflector from L3Harris Technologies. GEO-KOMPSAT-2B, a weather satellite developed by the South Korean space agency KARI, carries an ocean imaging payload from Airbus Defence and Space and an environmental spectrometer from Ball Aerospace.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
OneWeb files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

SpaceX wins Gateway cargo contract
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-6
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 2


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list