spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches AEHF-6
Posted: Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of AEHF-6 (ULA) A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 successfully launched a military communications satellite Thursday afternoon. The Atlas 5 551 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 4:18 pm EDT (2018 GMT), nearly 90 minutes later than planned after a problem with a ground system hydraulic pump controller halted the countdown in its final minute. The payload, the Advanced Extremely High Frequency (AEHF) 6 satellite, was deployed from the rocket's Centaur upper stage several hours later. The Lockheed Martin-built satellite completes the AEHF system, which provides protected military communications. The launch also carried a cubesat secondary payload, TDO-2, with payloads that will test optical calibration and satellite laser-ranging technologies for space domain awareness.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 26
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit rocket fails on debut test flight
London Evening Standard — 6:52 am ET (1052 GMT)
Shooting for the moon
Toledo Blade — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit fails in first attempt to launch rocket from jumbo jet
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:47 am ET (1047 GMT)
The Astronaut Wives Know Exactly What to Expect
The Atlantic — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list