spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches first Long March 5B
Posted: Sun, May 10, 2020, 12:52 PM ET (1652 GMT)
Long March 5B first launch (Xinhua) China launched the first Launch March 5B rocket Tuesday, a major milestone in its plans to develop a space station. The Long March 5B rocket, a version of the Long March 5 intended for missions to low Earth orbit, lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center at 6 am EDT (1000 GMT). It placed into orbit a prototype of a next-generation crewed spacecraft. The successful launch allows China to proceed with development of a space station, whose modules will be launched on the Long March 5B. The station's core module, Tianhe, is expected to launch in early 2021. The launch also clears the way for a Long March 5 launch this July of the Tianwen-1 Mars mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 26
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit rocket fails on debut test flight
London Evening Standard — 6:52 am ET (1052 GMT)
Shooting for the moon
Toledo Blade — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit fails in first attempt to launch rocket from jumbo jet
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:47 am ET (1047 GMT)
The Astronaut Wives Know Exactly What to Expect
The Atlantic — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list