spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese prototype crewed spacecraft lands
Posted: Sun, May 10, 2020, 1:09 PM ET (1709 GMT)
China next-generation crewed spacecraft landing (CASC) A next-generation Chinese crewed spacecraft landed early Friday after a nearly three-day test flight. The spacecraft, launched without a crew Tuesday on a Long March 5B, reentered and landed in the desert Dongfeng landing area at 1:49 am EDT (0549 GMT). The spacecraft performed several maneuvers during the mission, raising the apogee of its orbit to about 8,000 kilometers in order to test a high-speed reentry like that for a return from a mission beyond Earth orbit. While a fully-functional version of the spacecraft can support missions to deep space, China's crewed lunar plans are vague, with such missions potentially taking place in the mid-2030s.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 26
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit rocket fails on debut test flight
London Evening Standard — 6:52 am ET (1052 GMT)
Shooting for the moon
Toledo Blade — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit fails in first attempt to launch rocket from jumbo jet
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:47 am ET (1047 GMT)
The Astronaut Wives Know Exactly What to Expect
The Atlantic — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list