spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese rocket stage renters over Atlantic
Posted: Sun, May 17, 2020, 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)
A giant Chinese rocket stage reentered harmlessly over the Atlantic Ocean Monday. The Long March 5B core stage reentered at 11:33 am EDT (1533 GMT) over the Atlantic off the coast of west Africa. The stage was left in a low orbit after a launch last week, and was the largest object to make an uncontrolled re-entry since the Salyut 7 space station in 1991. It's not known if future Long March 5B launches will leave core stages in low orbits for uncontrolled re-entries, or of this was a one-time event linked to the first launch of the heavy-lift rocket.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 26
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit rocket fails on debut test flight
London Evening Standard — 6:52 am ET (1052 GMT)
Shooting for the moon
Toledo Blade — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit fails in first attempt to launch rocket from jumbo jet
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:47 am ET (1047 GMT)
The Astronaut Wives Know Exactly What to Expect
The Atlantic — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list