spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28, 2020, 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
Falcon 9 during Demo-2 launch scrub on May 27 (NASA) Weather forced NASA and SpaceX to scrub Wednesday's commercial crew launch, delaying it until at least Saturday. Launch controllers halted the countdown for the Demo-2 mission about 17 minutes before the scheduled 4:33 pm EDT (2033 GMT) liftoff when they concluded that weather conditions would not improve in time. There had been no technical issues with either the Falcon 9 rocket or Crew Dragon spacecraft during the countdown. The next launch attempt will be Saturday at 3:22 pm EDT (1922 GMT), although a forecast released after Wednesday's scrub projected only a 40% of favorable conditions. President Trump and Vice President Pence, who were both at the Kennedy Space Center for the launch, left shortly after it was scrubbed, but Trump tweeted later he would return for Saturday's attempt.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 6
With Iran in its sights, Israel launches new spy satellite into orbit
The Times of Israel — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel launches Ofek 16 recon satellite into orbit
i24news — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel successfully launches new spy satellite
Calcalist — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)
Israel successfully launches Ofek 16 spy satellite into space
Jerusalem Post — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list