spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 6, 2020, 3:45 PM ET (1945 GMT)
Falcon 9 SpaceX Starlink launch, early June 2020 (SpaceX) SpaceX successfully launched another set of Starlink satellites Wednesday night. A Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 9:25 pm EDT (0125 GMT Thursday) and deployed its payload of 60 Starlink satellites 15 minutes later. The launch had been scheduled for last month but was first delayed by weather and then deferred until after the Demo-2 commercial crew launch. This launch includes the first "VisorSat" Starlink satellite, equipped with a sunshade to reduce the satellite's brightness and thus its impact on astronomy. The launch was also the first time SpaceX successfully launched and landed the same first stage five times.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 6
With Iran in its sights, Israel launches new spy satellite into orbit
The Times of Israel — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel launches Ofek 16 recon satellite into orbit
i24news — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel successfully launches new spy satellite
Calcalist — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)
Israel successfully launches Ofek 16 spy satellite into space
Jerusalem Post — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list