spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Beidou satellite, completes constellation
Posted: Fri, Jun 26, 2020, 5:06 PM ET (2106 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Beidou satellite, June 2020 (CASC) China launched a Beidou spacecraft Monday night, completing the country's satellite navigation system. A Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 9:43 pm EDT (0143 GMT, 9:43 am Beijing time Tuesday) and placed a Beidou-3 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The launch was scheduled for a week earlier but postponed because of an issue with the rocket's third stage. The new satellite will complete the Beidou navigation and positioning system, consisting of 27 satellites in medium Earth orbit, five in geostationary orbit and three more in inclined geosynchronous orbits. Beidou will now provide global service like GPS, Russia's Glonass and Europe's Galileo systems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 6
With Iran in its sights, Israel launches new spy satellite into orbit
The Times of Israel — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel launches Ofek 16 recon satellite into orbit
i24news — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel successfully launches new spy satellite
Calcalist — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)
Israel successfully launches Ofek 16 spy satellite into space
Jerusalem Post — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list