spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
OneWeb satellite (Airbus Defence and Space) The British government joined forces with an Indian telecom company to secure the winning bid for the assets of satellite megaconstellation company OneWeb, they announced Friday. The British government and Indian mobile network operator Bharti Global are each providing $500 million to buy OneWeb, which filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in the United States in March. The deal, pending court approval, is expected to close in the fourth quarter of 2020. The UK government says it plans to build out the OneWeb constellation to provide global broadband services, and government officials have previously suggested that they will use OneWeb to provide navigation services of some kind. The sale may also result in manufacturing of the satellites to move from the US to the UK.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 19
China launches Chang Zheng 2C with trio of Yaogan-30 satellites
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 7:52 am ET (1152 GMT)
SES strengthens Amazon Web Services cloud partnership
Space News — 7:35 am ET (1135 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list