spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches UAE Mars orbiter mission
Posted: Wed, Jul 22, 2020, 8:10 PM ET (0010 GMT)
H-2A launch of Hope Mars mission (MHI) The United Arab Emirates' Hope spacecraft is on its way to Mars after a launch Sunday. An H-2A rocket lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center in Japan at 5:58 pm EDT (2158 GMT) and released the Hope spacecraft nearly an hour later. The 1,350-kilogram spacecraft, built by the UAE in cooperation with several American universities, will go into orbit around Mars in February. Hope carries three instruments to study Martian weather and climate. Hope is the first of three Mars missions scheduled for launch this month, with China's Tianwen-1 mission expected to launch Thursday, followed by NASA's Mars 2020 mission next week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 19
Rocket Lab Wins Design Contract for Mars Mission
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:22 am ET (1222 GMT)
The Detail: Aotearoa's space business is booming
Stuff.co.nz — 8:22 am ET (1222 GMT)
DA says SpaceX may be violating Texas law
Port Isabel (TX) Press — 8:21 am ET (1221 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list