spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China returns lunar samples to Earth
Posted: Mon, Dec 21, 2020, 5:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)
China's Chang'e-5 spacecraft returned samples of the moon to Earth on Wednesday. The spacecraft's return capsule landed in Inner Mongolia at 12:59 pm EST (1759 GMT) and was soon located by recovery teams. The recovery ends the space segment of the 23-day Chang'e-5 mission, which aimed to collect about two kilograms of rock samples thought to be billions of years younger than samples delivered by the U.S. Apollo and Soviet Luna missions. Chang'e-6, a backup mission, will now be repurposed for a landing in the lunar south pole region.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 21
EU signs contracts for 12 new satellites
Brussels Times — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)
Space Force Receives Fifth SBIRS Satellite
National Defense Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list