spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches core module of space station
Posted: Sun, May 2, 2021, 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
Long March 5B launch of Tianhe space station module (Xinhua) China launched the core module of its space station Wednesday night. A Long March 5B heavy-lift rocket lifted off from the coastal Wenchang spaceport at 11:23 pm EDT (0323 GMT Thursday), deploying the Tianhe module into low Earth orbit. Tianhe, or "harmony of the heavens," is now expected to raise its orbit to around 370 kilometers above the Earth. The uncrewed Tianzhou-2 cargo spacecraft is scheduled to rendezvous and dock with Tianhe in mid-late May, ahead of the visit of three astronauts aboard Shenzhou-12 in June. Those will be the first of 11 launches across 2021 and 2022 to build the planned 66-ton, three-module orbital outpost.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 9
Congratulations, You Weren’t Crushed by Space Debris Today
New York Magazine — 8:51 am ET (1251 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list