spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Fri, May 21, 2021, 4:46 PM ET (2046 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron rocket failed to reach orbit Saturday, the second failure in less than a year for the small launch vehicle. The Electron launched from Rocket Lab's New Zealand launch site at 7:11 am EDT (1111 GMT), delayed a little more than an hour by strong upper-level winds. The rocket's first stage performed as expected, but the single engine on the upper stage appeared to shut down seconds after ignition, and Rocket Lab confirmed a short time later that the launch failed. The rocket was carrying two imaging satellites for BlackSky. An Electron launch last July failed because of an electrical problem with the upper stage. The company hasn't disclosed additional details about the cause of the failure, but Rocket Lab CEO Peter Beck vowed to fix the problem "and be safely back on the pad as soon as possible."
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list