spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches missile warning satellite
Posted: Fri, May 21, 2021, 4:59 PM ET (2059 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of SBIRS GEO 5 (ULA) An Atlas 5 successfully launched a missile warning satellite and two cubesats Tuesday. The rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 1:37 pm EDT (1737 GMT) and released its primary payload, the SBIRS GEO 5 satellite, into geosynchronous transfer orbit 43 minutes later. The satellite is the fifth of the Space Based Infrared System network of satellites and hosted payloads in geosynchronous Earth orbit and highly elliptical orbit designed to detect ballistic missile launches anywhere on the globe. Also on the launch were two 12U cubesats known as Technology Demonstration Orbiters TDO-3 and TDO-4, which carried multiple US government payloads for the US Air Force Academy.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list