spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS loses attitude control after Russian module docks
Posted: Sat, Jul 31, 2021, 10:22 AM ET (1422 GMT)
Nauka docking with ISS (NASA TV) A Russian module that docked with the International Space Station Thursday morning started firing its thrusters hours later, causing the station to briefly lose attitude control. The Multipurpose Laboratory Module, or Nauka, docked with the station's Zvezda module at 9:29 am EDT (1329 GMT). About three hours later, though, the module's thrusters started firing, causing the station's attitude to drift. Thrusters on Zvezda and a Progress cargo spacecraft fired in response, and Russian controllers were able to turn off the thrusters on Nauka and restore attitude control within an hour. There was no evidence of any damage to the station, and the cause of the thruster firing remains under investigation. NASA postponed the launch of Boeing's CST-100 Starliner commercial crew vehicle, which was scheduled for this afternoon, to no earlier than Tuesday to give the space station time to recover from the incident.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list