spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Firefly Alpha launch fails
Posted: Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 1:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
Firefly Alpha explosion on first launch (J. Foust) Firefly Aerospace's first Alpha launch ended with an explosion two and a half minutes after liftoff Thursday. The rocket lifted off from Vandenberg Space Force Base at 9:59 pm EDT (0159 GMT Friday). About two and a half minutes later, the rocket started to tumble and then exploded. Firefly said the vehicle suffered an anomaly but that it was too early to know the root cause. Company executives had emphasized before the launch that this mission was a test flight of a new vehicle, with the goal of collecting as much data as possible.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list