spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


LM-3B launches experimental communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Dec 30, 2021, 2:30 PM ET (1930 GMT)
China wrapped up a record-breaking year with the launch of an experimental communications satellite Wednesday. A Long March 3B rocket lifted off from launch complex 2 at Xichang in southwest China at 11:43 am EST (1643 GMT) and placed the TJSW-9 satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The satellite was manufactured by the China Academy of Spaceflight Technology but no further details were revealed, suggesting it has at least some military uses. That launch was the 55th Chinese orbital launch attempt of 2021, far surpassing the previous record of 39 launches conducted by China in 2018 and 2020.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list