spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Terran 1 launch fails to reach orbit
Posted: Sat, Mar 25, 2023, 11:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
Terran 1 first launch (Relativity Space) Relativity Space launched its first Terran 1 rocket Wednesday night, exceeding expectations even while falling short of orbit. The Terran 1 lifted off at 11:25 pm EDT (0325 GMT Thursday) from Cape Canaveral on a test flight called "Good Luck, Have Fun" by the company. The rocket's first stage performed as planned, passing through Max-Q, or the maximum dynamic pressure on the vehicle. The rocket's upper stage separated nearly three minutes after liftoff but its engine appeared to malfunction and shut down seconds later, keeping the rocket from reaching orbit. Despite the failure to reach orbit, Relativity still celebrated the launch, arguing that it demonstrated the rocket's 3D-printed structures could handle the rigors of flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin, SpaceX, ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)

Voyager 1 returning science data again
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)

ISS spacewalks postponed
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 21
ASTRA 1P communications satellite successfully launched
Thales Alenia Space — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Rocket Lab celebrates its 50th launch - and 46th from Mahia
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:33 am ET (1033 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list