spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Virgin Galactic conducts sixth commercial SpaceShipTwo flight
Posted: Sun, Jan 28, 2024, 8:57 AM ET (1357 GMT)
VSS Unity after Galactic 06 mission (NMSA) Virgin Galactic flew its VSS Unity suborbital spaceplane Friday, taking six people to the edge of space. Unity, attached to its VMS Eve aircraft, took off from Spaceport America at 10 am EDT (1500 GMT) on the Galactic 06 mission. It landed back at the spaceport nearly an hour later after flying to a peak altitude of 88.8 kilometers. Unity carried four customers for the first time, after previous flights took three customers and one Virgin Galactic astronaut trainer. The company announced in November that it would shift from monthly to quarterly flights of Unity, ending them entirely in mid-2024 to focus its resources on the development of a new Delta-class of spaceplanes.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Intuitive Machines lunar lander
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches missile-warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 21
Space Force: We need a hotline to China
Defense One — 6:02 am ET (1102 GMT)
Musk: SpaceX aims to launch third Starship by second week of March
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 5:59 am ET (1059 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list