spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Asteroid poses little threat to Earth
Posted: Thu, Jul 25 9:05 AM ET (1305 GMT)
A recently-discovered asteroid has only a very slim chance of colliding with the Earth in 2019, despite sensationalistic stories to the contrary. Astronomers reported...

News briefs: July 24
Posted: Thu, Jul 25 7:54 AM ET (1154 GMT)
Russia is giving Lance Bass ten days to raise a $1.5-million down payment for his space flight, SPACE.com reported Wednesday. The deadline...

Science briefs: July 24
Posted: Thu, Jul 25 7:32 AM ET (1132 GMT)
The supply of plutonium available for future NASA space science missions may be limited, Space News reported Wednesday. An official with the Department of Energy...

Senate committee boosts NASA budget
Posted: Wed, Jul 24 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)
A Senate appropriations subcommittee added $200 million to NASA's proposed 2003 budget on Tuesday, including funding for the New Horizons mission to Pluto, the...

News briefs: July 23
Posted: Wed, Jul 24 7:44 AM ET (1144 GMT)
A meeting of representatives of the nations involved in the ISS project on Tuesday was "very constructive", AFP reported. The five-hour meeting, held at...

Science briefs: July 23
Posted: Wed, Jul 24 7:21 AM ET (1121 GMT)
Dwarf galaxies may be the source of much of the oxygen and other heavy elements that shaped the formation of larger galaxies, according to research...

Companies announce suborbital space tourism vehicle
Posted: Tue, Jul 23 8:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)
Space Adventures and XCOR Aerospace announced Monday plans to develop a reusable suborbital spacecraft to be used for space tourism flights. The Xerus would take...

News briefs: July 22
Posted: Tue, Jul 23 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
Four people, including three student employees of NASA's Johnson Space Center, were arrested for stealing and attempting to sell lunar rocks from the Apollo...

News briefs: July 20-21
Posted: Mon, Jul 22 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
A independent report on NASA's astrobiology program has recommended changes in the program, SPACE.com reported Friday. The report noted that NASA's initial...

Bass moves closer to flight deal, NASA questions training
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 1:52 PM ET (1752 GMT)
Pop star and would-be space tourist Lance Bass has reached an agreement in principle to fly on the October Soyuz taxi mission, although NASA...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, August 14
Why we’re heading for an armed space race
The National (Scotland) — 3:19 am ET (0719 GMT)
Ghana is looking to outer space. It needs the law to match
The Conversation — 3:16 am ET (0716 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list