spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: August 5
Posted: Tue, Aug 6 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
Assembly of the Beagle 2 Mars lander has started in Britain, according to SpaceDaily. The spacecraft is scheduled to be fully assembled and shipped out...

Researchers claim some ALH84001 magnetite formed by bacteria
Posted: Mon, Aug 5 8:38 AM ET (1238 GMT)
A team of scientists has published evidence that one quarter of the magnetite found in Martian meteorite ALH84001 could only have been created organically, the...

News briefs: August 3-4
Posted: Mon, Aug 5 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)
EchoStar announced late Friday that it has rescheduled the launch of its EchoStar 8 satellite for August 20. The satellite, a Space Systems/Loral 1300,...

Shuttle launch plans announced
Posted: Mon, Aug 5 7:41 AM ET (1141 GMT)
NASA officials confirmed plans Friday to reschedule the next three space shuttle missions. Under the new schedule, Atlantis will launch on mission STS-112 to...

News briefs: August 2
Posted: Sat, Aug 3 12:10 PM ET (1610 GMT)
The US Senate confirmed the nomination of Frederick Gregory as deputy administrator of NASA late Thursday. Gregory will take office once the President has signed...

Business briefs: August 2
Posted: Sat, Aug 3 11:41 AM ET (1541 GMT)
Italian aerospace company Finmeccanica announced Friday that it was purchasing satellite operator Telespazio from Telecom Italia for 127 million euros (US$125 million) plus 93...

News briefs: August 1
Posted: Fri, Aug 2 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
Satellite data has revealed that the Earth's equator has been bulging for the last several years, for uncertain reasons. The bulge in the Earth'...

NASA ready to resume shuttle mission preparations
Posted: Thu, Aug 1 11:25 PM ET (0325 GMT)
NASA is expected to announce a revised shuttle launch schedule on Friday after determining the best way to fix cracks found in shuttle fuel lines....

Astronomers discover web of gas and dark matter
Posted: Thu, Aug 1 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
Several groups of astronomers have discovered a massive network of filaments of gas that may also be home to much of the dark matter believed...

News briefs: July 31
Posted: Thu, Aug 1 7:45 AM ET (1145 GMT)
Contrary to previous reports, Boeing is not investing in antigravity research, SPACE.com reported Wednesday. A Boeing spokesperson told SPACE.com that the original report,...



news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list