spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: August 12
Posted: Tue, Aug 13 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries is asking the Japanese government for permission to use an upper-stage engine it is jointly developing with Boeing on a future...

News briefs: August 10-11
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 8:07 AM ET (1207 GMT)
A Spanish company has designed a mission that could test one technique for deflecting dangerous asteroids. The "Don Quixote" mission would use two spacecraft: one...

News briefs: August 9
Posted: Sat, Aug 10 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
Repairs have started on one of the space shuttle orbiters with cracked flow liners in its fuel lines. Work on shuttle Atlantis started Friday as...

Russia delays upcoming ISS missions
Posted: Fri, Aug 9 2:38 PM ET (1838 GMT)
The next two Russian flights to the International Space Station, including a taxi flight whose crew includes pop star Lance Bass, will be delayed by...

News briefs: August 8
Posted: Fri, Aug 9 8:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
A new study has raised questions about the reported discovery earlier this year of a "quark" star. According to a paper submitted to the Astrophysical...

Business briefs: August 8
Posted: Fri, Aug 9 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Satellite operator Eutelsat plans to acquire the Stellat satellite venture, Space News reported Thursday. Stellat is a joint venture of France Telecom and EuropeStar; France...

Report: hackers acquired sensitive SLI engineering documents
Posted: Thu, Aug 8 8:49 PM ET (0049 GMT)
Hackers broke into a NASA computer system and copied sensitive engineering documents that are part of the Space Launch Initiative (SLI), the computer trade publication...

Status of Bass space flight unclear
Posted: Thu, Aug 8 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
Time may be running out for pop star Lance Bass to arrange the funding he needs to fly on a Soyuz mission this October as...

News briefs: August 7
Posted: Thu, Aug 8 10:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
NASA's Stardust spacecraft has started collecting interstellar dust grains, project officials reported this week. The spacecraft's particle collector, which traps dust particles in...

News briefs: August 6
Posted: Wed, Aug 7 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has selected William Readdy to replace Frederick Gregory as the agency's associate administrator for space flight. Readdy, an astronaut...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list